If you transfer files to another computer, they DO work.
However, if your intent is to give your save file to a friend, that will not work quite as you may want. The save file is coded to your epic launcher account (or something similar. either way, the game will still show up as YOUR save), and the save will be tied to your own account.
I know, as I have done both things above.